News & Features


RHB Singapore Cup 2012: The draw as it happens

The RHB Singapore Cup 2012 draw was held at Bugis Junction on 29 April from 3pm onwards.

As with past editions, there will be a total of 16 sides featuring in the competition this year.

Eleven out of thirteen teams participating in the Great Eastern-YEO’S S.League have been entered into the RHB Singapore Cup access list. These are, in alphabetical order:
Albirex Niigata (Singapore)
Balestier Khalsa
Geylang United
Gombak United
Home United
Hougang United
Singapore Armed Forces FC
Tampines Rovers
Tanjong Pagar United
Woodlands Wellington

The Courts Young Lions and Malaysia’s Harimau Muda, both of whom are Great Eastern-YEO’S S.League participant teams, have requested and received permission to sit out of the RHB Singapore Cup, due to their respective preparations for the AFC Under-22 Asian Cup qualifiers in June.

Taking the Harimau Muda’s place in the draw are their juniors from the Malaysia Premier League. For the purposes of the competition, they will be regarded as a non-invitee side.

Rounding off the list of 16 are four invited clubs from outside Singapore. They are, in alphabetical order:
Kanbawza FC (Myanmar)
Loyola Meralco Sparks (Philippines)
Phnom Penh Crown (Cambodia)
Yotha FC (Laos)

The draw will place all 16 teams into a tree divided into two halves. In order to ensure the presence of at least one Great Eastern-YEO’S S.League participant team in the Grand Final in November, all four invited foreign clubs will be placed in the same half of the draw tree.

Representatives from the eleven Great Eastern-YEO’S S.League sides and the Harimau Muda junior side are seeded based on their performance at a ball-juggling competition. This competition has been completed, with Albirex finishing in top spot.

The four invitee sides are randomly drawn into their respective positions separately.

The results of the draw, based on the above procedures, are as follows:
DPMM FC vs Home United
Singapore Armed Forces FC vs Balestier Khalsa
Gombak United vs Harimau Muda
Tanjong Pagar United vs Hougang United
Yotha FC vs Albirex Niigata (Singapore)
Phnom Penh Crown vs Tampines Rovers
Loyola Meralco Sparks vs Geylang United
Kanbawza FC vs Woodlands Wellington

See you at the games!

  • Singapore Cup